2014: Louisiana Senate Bill 357

Where: Louisiana State

What: Louisiana SB 357 seeks to ban constrictor and venomous snakes. The snakes are currently allowed to be kept by private keepers with a permit, but this bill amends the current law and bans the species listed. View more information at www.usark.org/campaign/2014-louisiana-senate-bill-357-action-alert.

The bill was sponsored by Senator Chabert and sent to the Senate Natural Resources Committee. Contact information for members is below (via www.enate.la.gov/NaturalResources/Assignments.asp).

Natural Resources Committee

Committee Members

Senator Gerald Long (Chairman)
P.O. Box 151
Winnfield, LA 71483

(318) 628-5799
longg@legis.la.gov
Senator Rick Ward, III (Vice-Chairman)
3741 Highway 1
Port Allen, LA 70767

(225) 246-8838
wardr@legis.la.gov
Senator R.L. "Bret" Allain, II
600 Main Street
Suite 1
Franklin, LA 70538

(337) 828-9107
allainb@legis.la.gov
Senator "Jody" Amedee
2109 S. Burnside Ave.
Suite A
Gonzales, LA 70737

(225) 644-1526
amedeej@legis.la.gov
Senator Norbèrt N. "Norby" Chabert
P.O. Box 2417
Houma, LA 70361

(985) 858-2927
chabertn@legis.la.gov
Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell
6305 Elysian Fields Ave.
Suite 404
New Orleans, LA 70122

(504) 284-4794
morrelljp@legis.la.gov
Senator Dan "Blade" Morrish
119 W. Nezpique Street
Jennings, LA 70546

(337) 824-3979
morrishd@legis.la.gov
Senator Page Cortez (Interim Member)
101 W. Farrell Road
Bldg. 5, Suite 100
Lafayette, LA 70508

(337) 993-7430
cortezp@legis.la.gov

 

Article written by USARK