Louisiana SB 631

Louisiana SB 631 would require anyone seeking to receive a turtle farming license to first complete a three 3-year apprenticeship from a currently licensed Louisiana turtle farmer. The bill was introduced in the Senate on 4/1/14. You can read the text of the bill at http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/ViewDocument.aspx?d=889169. You can follow the bill status at http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=14RS&b=SB631&sbi=y.

Current law already requires the below to receive a turtle farming license:

(1) Each person applying for a turtle farmer license must complete a written application
as provided by the commissioner of agriculture.

(2) An application fee, to be established by the commissioner by rule and not to exceed
$250, must accompany each application.

(3) The applicant must have all necessary equipment and materials for implementation
of sanitization or other procedures as may be required by the commissioner. The
commissioner may provide for on-site inspection of such arrangements before the
issuance of the license.

(4) The applicant must comply with any other requirements which may have been
adopted by rules and regulations

Article written by USARK