2017 Nevada AB238

This bill bans the importation, possession, sale, transfer and breeding of “dangerous wild animals.” The bill allows a person who possesses a “dangerous wild animal” before July 1, 2017 to keep that animal if the person meets certain requirements

As introduced “dangerous wild animal” means the below:

1. All snakes from the families Atractaspdiidae, Elapidae and Hydrophiidae.
2. All snakes from the family Viperidae, except any species of snake indigenous to this State.
3. All species of alligators, caimans, crocodiles and gharials.
4. All species of hyenas and aardwolves.
5. All species of primates, except humans.
6. All twig snakes from the genus Thelotornis.
7. American black bears (Ursus americanus) that have been 3 bred in captivity.
8. Asiatic black bears (Ursus thibetanus).
9. Boomslangs (Dispholidus typus).
10. Brown bears (Ursus arctos).
11. Cheetahs (Acinonyx jubatus), including hybrids thereof.
12. Clouded leopards (Neofelis nebulosa and Neofelis diardi), including hybrids thereof.
13. Giant pandas (Ailuropoda melanoleuca).
14. Gray wolves (Canis lupus).
15. Jaguars (Panthera onca), including hybrids thereof.
16. Leopards (Panthera pardus), including hybrids thereof.
17. Lions (Panthera leo), including hybrids thereof.
18. Mountain lions (Puma concolor) that have been bred in captivity, including hybrids thereof.
19. Polar bears (Ursus maritimus).
20. Red wolves (Canis rufus) that have been bred in captivity.
21. Sloth bears (Melursus ursinus).
22. Snow leopards (Panthera uncia), including hybrids thereof.
23. Spectacled bears (Tremarctos ornatus), including hybrids thereof.
24. Sun bears (Helarctos malayanus).
25. Tigers (Panthera tigris), including hybrids thereof.